Chinese name: 湖州市

Population: 2,648,400 (2016)

Area: 5,818.43 km² (Prefecture-level city)

Elevation: 3 m (Average)

Airport: Under construction

Train station: 3



Huzhou is a prefecture-level city in northern Zhejiang province, China. Lying south of the Lake Tai, it borders Jiaxing to the east, Hangzhou to the south, and the provinces of Anhui and Jiangsu to the west and north respectively. At the 2010 census, its population was 2,893,542 inhabitants, of whom 757,165 lived in the built-up (or metro) area made of Wuxing District as Nanxun District is not being conurbated yet.


248 BC, Gucheng County (菰城縣) was set up by the State of Chu.
222 BC, Qin Dynasty, Wucheng County (烏程縣) was set up.
266, Kingdom of Wu, set Wuxing Shire (吳興郡), its administrative area including the modern Huzhou prefecture city and Hangzhou (杭州), Yixing (宜興).
602, Sui dynasty, changed the name of Wuxing to Huzhou (湖州).
During the Tang Dynasty, Huzhou administered 5 counties: Wucheng (烏程), Wukang (武康), Changxing (長興), Anji (安吉), and Deqing (德清).
At the beginning of the Song Dynasty, Gui'an county (歸安縣) was divided from the Wucheng county.
During the Qing Dynasty, Huzhou administered 7 counties: Wucheng, Guo'an, Wukang, Deqing, Changxing, Anji, and Xiaofeng.
1949, the People's Republic of China, Huzhou town became the seat of government of the First Special District of Zhejiang, administrative area including the modern Huzhou and Jiaxing prefecture cities.
1983, Huzhou prefecture level city was set up.